A lifetime of safe driving starts here
Confident Driving Academy provides the best in driver’s education to Coeur d’Alene, Post Falls, Dalton Gardens, Rathdrum, Hayden, Spirit Lake, and Athol, Idaho.
Raising a teenager is hard.
Teaching them to drive doesn’t have to be.
Confident Driving Academy teaches the essential skills and knowledge necessary to build confidence behind the wheel and create safe, defensive drivers.
In-car driving instruction is always one-on-one and flexible enough to accommodate busy schedules.
6 Weeks, Start to Finish
Classroom instruction and driving sessions run at the same time; practice and apply lessons as you learn. Work at your own pace with our engaging online curriculum.
Certification & Credits
All instructors are state certified through the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses (IBOL).
Learning to drive is a major milestone.
It can also be scary—we’ve all seen the statistics about teenage drivers and their safety on the road.
With so much at stake, you don’t want a school that only teaches students to pass an exam. You want them to pass with the practical knowledge and skills that keep them safe on the road for years to come.
Once you’re enrolled, we’ll begin one-on-one driving sessions while you’re working through the online instruction—no need to wait weeks or months to apply what you’ve learned. Our goal is to have you out the door in 6 weeks, start to finish.
At Confident Driving Academy, we believe that driver’s education is about much more than learning to drive.
It’s about preventing accidents, promoting confidence, and building the foundation for a lifetime of safe, responsible driving. Our mission is to teach the essential skills that produce proactive, collision-free drivers.
We don’t believe in scare tactics or baseless rule-setting. So we don’t just tell students not to text and drive—we explain why it’s important.
Our relaxed and fun learning environment, with one-on-one instruction from patient and professional instructors, reduces stress and encourages confidence behind the wheel. In addition to the basics, we teach practical skills—like what to do if you’re pulled over by a police officer or how to safely respond to an aggressive driver.
Hello, my name is Todd Bingham, the owner of Confident Driving Academy.
I am a former Kootenai County law enforcement officer, high school basketball coach and current high school football official.
I was raised in Idaho and have been operating as many types of vehicles as possible since earning my driver's license at the age of 14. I'm also a former school bus driver, heavy equipment operator, and currently spend my free time either riding my motorcycle or boating on Lake Coeur d'Alene.
Teaching and mentoring kids is my passion—and, of course, I love driving. Witnessing the moment when things start to click for your child, when they move from anxiety or fear to enjoyment and confidence…That’s when I know we are on the right track.
How It Works
Tuition for our comprehensive course is $500, and includes both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction.
We offer a state-approved Online Driver’s Education Course (including Idaho-specific laws and information) created and administered by Brian Johns. Because classes run online, scheduling is flexible and runs on your timetable.
Behind the Wheel
Our course includes 6 hours of one-on-one behind-the-wheel driving lessons. We’ll arrange lessons that work with your schedule—daytime, evenings, or weekends.
Out the Door in 6 Weeks
We only accept students if we have room in our schedule to drive with them. Once enrolled, students complete classroom hours and driving sessions concurrently.
Idaho GDL (Graduated Driver’s Licensing) Requirements
Be sure to download the Idaho Driver's Handbook, or pick up a printed copy when obtaining your permit.
Students 14 ½ years of age and older are eligible for a learner’s permit in the state of Idaho. You must obtain this permit through the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Department in Coeur d’Alene or Post Falls before enrolling.
Make sure to bring all required documents with you to obtain your permit.
Visit the Kootenai County website to see a list of required documents.
All applicants under age 17 must complete the following steps:
Pass a state-certified Driver’s Training Class. Class must include:
30 hours of classroom instruction or a state-approved Online Driver’s Education Course
6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
6 hours of in-car observation
Complete a supervised driving period, including:
Minimum 6-month, violation-free supervised instruction period
50 hours of supervised driving (including at least 10 hours at night)
Pass a written knowledge and road skills test
Applicants must be at least 15 years old to receive an Idaho driver’s license
To schedule an appointment with a skills tester, ask your county driver’s license office or visit the Idaho DMV website.
Get In Touch
Want to be notified when registration is open, or ask a question before signing up?
Use the form below and let us know. We'll respond as promptly as possible – generally within 2 business days.